Seven Pioneer Wrestlers qualify for NJCAA Nationals

Seven Pioneer Wrestlers qualify for NJCAA Nationals

Albany, GA:

The 16th ranked Spartanburg Methodist College Wrestling team traveled to Albany Georgia this week for the NJCAA East District II Championship hosted by Darton State College. The red hot Pioneers finished 4th in the tournament as a team, and have the most wrestlers heading to Nationals during Head Coach Rob Sater's tenure as seven wrestlers qualified for the NJCAA National Championships to be held February 27- March 1 at the Spokane Convention Center in Spokane, Washington.

Heavyweight John Allen Griswold (Moore, SC) became the first Pioneer wrestler to win a District Championship under Coach Sater. All-American Christopher Jones won the 133 pound District Championship in 2010.  

Freshmen DeAndre Johnson (Beaufort, SC) and Ian Clevenger (Inman, SC) both qualified with thrid place finishes. 

Freshmen Hector Contreras (Spartanburg, SC), Dustin Martin (Chesnee, SC), Will Thomas (Spartanburg, SC), and Robert Mills (Rock Hill, SC) each finished fourth in their respective weight classes to also qualify for the National Championships. 

Rounding out the honors for the Pioneers was a very special one as SMC Assistant Coach Bob "Papa" Sater was also honored as "Man of the Year".  The award is voted on by the East District coaches.  


Way to go guys! We are all proud of you..